When are intentional self MAC’s considered to be a travel?

  • May 5, 2023 at 3:40 pm #4399
    Luke Burgess

    There have been a few recent cases of intentional self-tips which the community seems to be confused about, specifically, whether these plays should be considered travel violations or not.

    The relevant sections of the rules are:

    18.2.5. A travel infraction occurs if: a player intentionally bobbles, fumbles or delays the disc to themselves, for the sole purpose of moving in a specific direction.


    Annotation |

    If they tip the disc solely in order to assist themselves to catch a disc that they otherwise would not have been able to gain possession of, that is not a travel. 

    These rules seem to be quite clear, however they either aren’t well known or there is general confusion as to how they should be interpreted.

    Here are some recent examples:

    and the following discussion on instagram: https://www.instagram.com/reel/CpyT6k0KRjz/?igshid=YmMyMTA2M2Y=

    and the following discussion on twitter: https://twitter.com/ultimatesascha/status/1654218121744449538?s=46&t=FQHylgE_CMjrfdLA7sAWY
    (this is a USAU clip and the discussion is around the USAU rules but the principal is the same)

    So are these plays travel violations?

    They both tip the disc in order to save possession, so they are not solely trying to move in a specific direction, so no travel occurred.

    However, perhaps the wording of this section of the rules could be changed to make it more clear? “…for the sole purpose of…” is potentially causing confusing?

    May 17, 2023 at 11:28 am #4404
    Rueben Berg

    Hi Luke

    Both of these plays are legal under WFDF.

    This is the type of play this rule is intended to prevent:

    Hope that helps


You must be logged in to reply to this topic.