Rueben Berg

Forum Replies Created

  • In reply to: Defender on defender picks should not be illegal

    May 21, 2024 at 9:03 am #5573
    Rueben Berg
    Keymaster

    Thanks for that suggestions, but we do not plan to make that change.

    In reply to: Illegal double team blocks

    May 21, 2024 at 9:00 am #5572
    Rueben Berg
    Keymaster

    It is an in-built aspect of the rules that we do not assume that players will intentionally cheat (rule 1,2). We do not plan to change that aspect of the rules.

    Rueben Berg
    Keymaster

    Thanks for the suggestions, but we do not intend to make that change.

    Local Leagues or Tournaments are free to adjust the time cap rules to suit the needs of the particular event.

    In reply to: Double team calls by non-thrower are usually ignored

    May 21, 2024 at 8:52 am #5569
    Rueben Berg
    Keymaster

    Thanks – we will consider that.

    In reply to: Simplify Stalling Rules

    May 21, 2024 at 8:51 am #5568
    Rueben Berg
    Keymaster

    I’m not sure how much more simple we could make it, but open to suggestions.

    Can you give an example of inclusive language you would use?

    In reply to: Question about downloading

    October 23, 2023 at 2:03 pm #5261
    Rueben Berg
    Keymaster

    I do not believe there is an official 4v4 rule set

    If you are playing to a reduced stall count, then instead of maximum (9), you should play to maximum (total stall count – minus 1) eg if it is a total stall count of 7 – then play it as maximum (6) after the uncontested breach.

    In the case of a team not having enough female players then the team should play with 1 less player – 5 men and 1 woman. The other team can still play with 2 women.

    In reply to: Accepted Pick, Play Affected

    October 17, 2023 at 7:26 am #5259
    Rueben Berg
    Keymaster

    It’s not possible to fit every single detail into those scenario boxes.
    The O player goes to where they were when the throw was made, and the D player gets to catch up to where they would have been without the obstruction. If the obstruction happened after the disc was in the air, and therefore there is no positional disadvantage to make up, then the players can agree to slightly adjust their locations to avoid potential picks.

    Rueben Berg
    Keymaster

    “Is it still considered a self catch if the thrower doesn’t move his pivot foot while the disc is in the air?” – Yes.

    If the thrower accidentally drops the disc, then 13.2.5 does not apply, because then the thrower is not “attempting a pass”.

    In reply to: Check after Travel call

    August 28, 2023 at 2:24 pm #4430
    Rueben Berg
    Keymaster

    If there has been a travel call, and then a pass, and the disc comes back to the thrower, then play stops and restarts with a check.

    In reply to: Talking Tactics during Stoppages

    August 26, 2023 at 2:27 pm #4464
    Rueben Berg
    Keymaster

    Teams can talk tactics during a stoppage, but the check may not be delayed because of that (see the end of rule 10.1).
    So if the disc needs to be returned back to the thrower, teams can talk tactics while the disc is being returned.
    Also, if two players are discussing a call, another player can remind their team of the force.

    Hope that helps

    In reply to: Greatest as a defender?

    August 26, 2023 at 1:47 pm #4426
    Rueben Berg
    Keymaster

    A player on Team A can attempt a ‘greatest’ as a defender.
    If a player from Team A catches the pass, it is a goal.
    If a player from Team does not catch it, it is a turnover, and Team B can take possession.

    In reply to: Telling the team/teammate to call a time-out

    August 14, 2023 at 3:02 pm #4460
    Rueben Berg
    Keymaster

    Non-players should not yell out any “Call”. This is because it may not be clear if a player has made the call, or if a non-player has made the call.

    For example, a person on the sideline should not yell out “Foul”, because then play may stop incorrectly.

    The same applies to “Time-out”.

    In reply to: Offessing foul or deffense contact initiation?

    July 19, 2023 at 3:15 am #4422
    Rueben Berg
    Keymaster

    This is the best description:

    1. Yellow player ran into the space but hasn’t ensure that blue player change his direction (poach) – failed legal position/movement by yellow: he initiated the contact.

    In reply to: Offessing foul or deffense contact initiation?

    July 12, 2023 at 3:34 am #4420
    Rueben Berg
    Keymaster

    Based on this angle, that looks like good defense by Blue.

    In reply to: Ruling Scenario – Foul on the dump

    July 6, 2023 at 6:00 pm #4454
    Rueben Berg
    Keymaster

    Hi Kelvin

    Here are some answers:

    A, B C, E: No.
    D: The receiver can call a foul.

    However, if you think a foul has been called, and stop play, then play stops (see rule 16.1).
    If there was no foul call, then rule 15.9 applies, and the stall count would resume to when you stopped play.

    Hope that helps