Thrower Foul

  • October 1, 2013 at 4:05 am #438

    Fouls are often called against a mark, but what about an offensive foul?

    If the thrower pivots into a legally positioned mark, and the mark calls a foul, what happens (both contested and un)?

    October 1, 2013 at 4:15 am #439
    Rueben Berg

    – If the call is made while the thrower is not in the motion of throwing, play stops and the stall count starts at max 9 if uncontested, or max 6 if contested (Rule 9.5.)

    – If the call is made while the thrower is in the motion of throwing or after the throw, play continues until possession is established.
    If the throw results in a turnover, the turnover stands (Rule
    If the throw is completed, and the defense believes the foul did affect the play, then the disc is returned to the thrower (Rule and the stall count resumes as per the first scenario above.

    Regardless of when the foul occurred, if both players agree that it did not affect the play, the result of the play stands (Rule 16.3.)

You must be logged in to reply to this topic.