Strip Call clarification – foul before catch

  • July 12, 2020 at 12:07 am #1844
    Will Chen

    17.5.1 A Strip Foul occurs when a defensive foul causes the receiver or thrower to drop the disc after they have gained possession.

    Question: is it possible for a receive to argue that a defensive foul that occurred before the receiver even touches the arriving disc is a strip?

    Example: receiver in the endzone is tripped by defender, then shortly after, while stumbling, receiver begins catching the disc, possesses it, but then drops it due to ground contact. In this case, can receiver argue that the foul “caused the receiver to drop the disc after they have gained possession”. Generally, in my experience, this is a foul and not a strip, but the wording of 17.5.1 suggests the foul could occur before the receiver attempts the catch and still be called a strip.


    July 12, 2020 at 5:53 am #1845
    Rueben Berg

    Yes, this could be considered a strip foul.

You must be logged in to reply to this topic.