Starting the stall count inside the endzone

  • August 1, 2013 at 10:42 pm #411

    Interpretation 9.3 (starting the stall count):
    Even if the thrower still has to stop, get up after a dive, or even come back into the field because they ran out of the field, the marker may start the count.

    Does the above interpretation also include a person that catches the disc outside the endzone but their momentum carries them into it, i.e. you can start stall counting as soon as they have control of the disc and during their return to the front of the endzone?

    Also, I understand that if you call travel you have to stop the stall count until they re-establish their pivot in the correct spot. However, in the above example, if you just call them ‘not in’ and they immediately agree, do you need to wait until they come back to the line?

    Basically, what happened in a game recently was that the opposition caught the disc and his momentum carried him into the endzone. The defender shouted ‘not in’ (not travel, as far as I know) and his teammate agreed immediately and he came back. Whilst all this was happening, the defender had started the stall count so that he was on about 4 when he came back to the line. Should he have waited for him to come back before starting the stall count?

    August 2, 2013 at 4:49 am #415
    Rueben Berg

    The marker can start the stall count as long as they are within 3 metres of the thrower.

    The “not in” call does not affect anything, unless the offense claims it is actually a goal, in which play stops to discuss that call.

    August 3, 2013 at 9:33 pm #420

    Thank you!

You must be logged in to reply to this topic.