Starting the stall count after a contested stall-o

  • March 10, 2015 at 3:02 pm #840
    Ryan H Pek

    9.5.3. After a contested stall-out the stall count restarts at maximum eight (8).

    9.6. To restart a stall count “at maximum n”, where “n” is a number between one (1) and nine (9), means to announce “stalling” followed by the count at one more than the last number uttered prior to the stoppage, or by “n” if that value is greater than “n”.

    My understanding of the above is that after checking the disc in, it goes “stalling 8, 9, 10” but everyone tells me that it starts at 9 so.. “stalling 9, 10”. Which is it?

    March 10, 2015 at 5:40 pm #841
    Bruno Gravato

    If the stoppage happened at 8 or 9 it would restart with “stalling 8” (assuming we are talking about a contested stall-out).

    If it stopped lets say at 4, then you would resume by saying “stalling 5”.

    English is not my native language and this seems quite clear… I don’t know how people can misunderstand this. Do they really read the sentences till the end?

    March 10, 2015 at 5:44 pm #842
    Ryan H Pek

    my thoughts exactly. But people (not just 1 or 2 but quite a number around the ultimate community) around me seem so confident, I just have to get this clarified. Who knows I might’ve missed something.

    March 20, 2015 at 6:55 pm #843
    Benji Heywood

    The issue is caused by a change from the 2009 rules. Previously, you were obliged to leave a second between the word ‘stalling’ and the number, so it was reasonable to start at 9 after a contested stall and say ‘stalling, 9, 10’ for 2 seconds of play. The rules now state that you need only leave a second between the start of each NUMBER in the stall count, not each word, so that would be only one second (stalling-nine, ten).

    Thus the rule was changed such that a contested stall now comes in on 8 and not 9. It is easy to see how older players may still have the idea of ‘9’ in their heads, but they are wrong.

You must be logged in to reply to this topic.