Self-catch turnovers (13.2.5) (Annotations)

  • May 23, 2024 at 6:28 pm #5598
    Juan Jose Alonso
    Participant

    The thrower may touch a disc they have thrown, for example to prevent an
    opponent from catching it, or to tap it to a teammate.
    I dont see how is allowed, just seems unfair to me.

    May 27, 2024 at 2:15 am #5625
    Aren Siekmeier
    Participant

    Can prevent an immediate callahan at least. Should be allowed to at least touch it after throwing it.

    Also can be fun to try to fix a botched throw by tipping it again to your teammate.

    But if only this is to be disallowed, what’s the proposed rule?

    If the thrower touches the disc they have thrown before anyone else, it can no longer be caught by anyone on their team for a completion?

    May 30, 2024 at 2:38 am #5645
    Juan Jose Alonso
    Participant

    Well, after you throw it you cant touch it, plain as that, if you do, like in basketball when you pick up your dribble, bounce it, and you cant touch it anymore otherwise its a travel, so my guess would be turn at the point the trower touched it after throwing it.

    May 30, 2024 at 9:29 am #5651
    Kiran
    Participant

    I think the only exception to the rule should be if you haven’t moved your pivot. The disc barely slipping out of your hands when faking a throw or even just moving it around and then immediately recovering it without moving your feet doesn’t seem turnover worthy to me.

You must be logged in to reply to this topic.