Pick calls are considered calls against whom?

  • September 17, 2020 at 10:16 am #1862
    Will Chen

    Scenario: As the thrower pivots, his marker tries to move with the thrower but is obstructed by a third player. The marker calls “pick”. The thrower, not having heard the call, a second later, starts his throwing motion and throws an incomplete pass. The intended receiver, who had heard the pick call and stopped, says the pick call affected possession.

    Question: does the marker’s pick call count as a “call against the thrower” per 16.2.1?
    This is important for determining whether play stopped immediately at time of call (16.1) or after possession is established (16.2).

    [i]16.1. Whenever a foul or violation call is made, play stops immediately and no turn over is possible (unless in situations specified in 15.9, 16.2, and 16.3).
    16.2. If the foul or violation:
    * 16.2.1. is called against the thrower and the thrower subsequently attempts a pass, or
    * 16.2.2. is called when the thrower is in the act of throwing, or
    * 16.2.3. is called or occurs when the disc is in the air,
    then play continues until possession has been established.[/i]

    September 17, 2020 at 11:13 am #1864
    Rueben Berg

    Good question.
    A pick is not considered a breach by the offence, so 16.2.1 would not apply.

    This can be demonstrated by looking at 9.5.4 which includes ‘pick’ as an ‘other call’.

You must be logged in to reply to this topic.