Offside questions

  • May 16, 2022 at 1:52 pm #3098
    Carlos Andrés Bohm


    Here are a couple of questions about offisides that are not clear to me after reading in the rules and annotations. 
    [*]Rule 7.5.2. states that 

    “If the offence chooses to call offside, they must let the disc hit the ground untouched and then resume play as if a brick has been called (no check is required).”

    [*]Annotation 7.5 says that: 

    What The defence is offside and the offence calls offside and then the disc hits the ground and stops in the offences defending endzone
    Result The offence can pick up the disc and resume play from the brick mark closest to their defending endzone. No check is required.

    The question then is the following: If the offence calls the offside do they HAVE TO let the disc hit the ground and play from the brick or is it just a choice?  Im asking because I imagine some situtations in which the defense throws a really short pull or a low one and then it might be better for the offense not to let the disc hit the ground or let it hit the ground but not play from the brick. 
    2) Annotation 7.5 also states that 

    If both teams are called for offside on the same pull, both outcomes described in rules 7.5.1 and 7.5.2 would apply.

    But 7.5.1 says that it should be treated as if a time-out had been called (meaning a check is required) but 7.5.2 says that no check is required.  When both outcomes apply: should there be a check or not?   

    Thanks in advance 

    May 16, 2022 at 2:07 pm #3099
    Rueben Berg

    If it’s a bad pull, it would be easier to just NOT call offside.
    The MUST relates to the idea that if they want to take the ‘brick’ option, then cannot catch the pull. If the O call offside, but don’t want to take the brick, I think it would be reasonable to allow the O to ignore the brick scenario.

    If both teams call offside, there needs to be a check.

You must be logged in to reply to this topic.