Off./Def. Receiving Foul or Indirect Foul

  • August 4, 2016 at 7:28 am #1160
    Bruno Gravato

    – “floaty” pass to space
    – receiver and defender are running to the disc, but still a few meters away from the disc
    – contact occurs and a foul is called (either offensive or defensive)
    – both players believe they had a chance to catch the disc

    In this situation should this be treated as an [offensive/defensive] receiving foul or an indirect (or blocking) foul?

    This will affect who takes possession of the disc after the breach.

    According to the current version of the rules receiving fouls are “before, or during, an attempt to catch the disc”.
    What’s the rule of thumb on the moment (in time or distance) “before an attempt to catch the disc” to decide whether to call and indirect foul or a receiving foul?


    August 6, 2016 at 7:55 am #1162

    According to the WFDF interpretations,
    17.5 Defensive and offensive receiving fouls (17.2, 17.6)
    If the disc is in the air but the players involved in the foul were running to receive or
    defend the next pass after possession has been established, this should be treated as
    an Indirect foul (rule 17.9)

    i hope this helps. 😀

    August 26, 2016 at 6:11 pm #1292
    Bruno Gravato

    Don’t know how I missed that… I think I might have been reading an older version of the Interpretations doc…

    Thanks for spotting that 🙂


You must be logged in to reply to this topic.