Here is the situation where I need the interpretation of two rules based on what happened in a game in last tournament –
13.7. After a turnover, the turnover location is where:
13.7.2. the intercepting player stops; or
13.11. If the turnover location is in the offence’s defending end zone, the thrower may choose
where to establish the pivot:
13.11.2. at the nearest point on the goal line to the turnover location, by moving from
the turnover location.
So the confusion is if the intercepting player is in his or her defending end zone, do they have to throw it from the location they’re at within the endzone (which is where they stop – 13.7.2) or do they have the option to establish pivot at the nearest point on the goal line to the turnover location as 13.11.2 indicates?
The turn over location is where the intercepting player stops by 13.7.2.
Then, 13.11 allows the new thrower the choice between staying at that location and moving up to the goal line.
Both rules apply, and they do not contradict each other. There are several situations (think out of bounds) where the turn over location is not (necessarily) the spot where the pivot needs to be established, this is one of them.