Establishing pivot

  • May 25, 2023 at 6:39 am #4441
    Samuel Ng Shenq Jye

    Hi Reuben, 

    I might have recalled a previous version of a rule where after a turnover, if an offense player moves directly above the disc and show intention of picking up the disc but then moves away, said player must pick up the disc. Was there such a rule? If yes, is it still relevant in the latest version of the rules? 

    May 26, 2023 at 1:29 pm #4444
    Rueben Berg

    This is covered in the annotation to rule 8.5:
    “If other players are still moving towards the disc (a common situation after a turnover), the closest player can decide not to pick up the disc – this is not in itself a breach of the rules. If no player on offense has been walking towards the disc since the turnover occurred, this is a breach of the rules. It is recommended that the opposing team provide a warning to the opposition and make sure they are aware of the rule before enforcing any time limits.”

You must be logged in to reply to this topic.