Double team calls by non-thrower are usually ignored

  • May 19, 2024 at 9:50 am #5557

    Following the recent rule change that non-throwers can also call double team infractions, I think it’s clear that its not being used much. Usually when it is being called, the marker and the additional defender doesn’t notice the call and just keeps stalling/defending.

    I think the rules should allow a non-thrower who has called a double team to escalate their call to a marking violation if it is not reacted to. Right now only the thrower can call that marking violation and they are usually under a lot of pressure at the time if such a call.

    May 21, 2024 at 8:52 am #5569
    Rueben Berg

    Thanks – we will consider that.

    May 24, 2024 at 4:22 am #5609
    Aren Siekmeier


    I actually thought the other offensive players could escalate, I was mistaken.

    The other problem is that the thrower, if they weren’t the one calling the infraction, may also throw the disc without the defense remedying the breach, in which case any turnover stands (or even when caught, disc could go back if the infraction is contested). If the non-thrower has an opportunity to stop play with a violation call before this throw goes off, this helps considerably.

    Still need to work on everyone hearing and responding to calls being made, instead of continuing play for 2, 3, 4 throws… but that’s a different issue.

You must be logged in to reply to this topic.