Dangerous Play Foul Outcome

  • May 12, 2014 at 2:23 am #686
    Brenton Mottershead

    So a situation occurred in a mixed game over the weekend where a floaty disc went up and a girl was standing underneath it to attempt to bring it down. A male defender came through and skied the girl, easily collecting the disc. However, in the process he also took out the girl who clearly had established her position. This seemed clear to me as a Dangerous Play foul, however the end result was that the turnover remained.

    My question is around the outcome of possession as had the contact not occurred, it is highly unlikely that the girl would have beaten the guy to the disc in this situation. Should the girl regain possession or should it go back to the thrower? Particularly given that the contact would not have effected the outcome of the play, it was just dangerous play.

    May 12, 2014 at 2:42 am #687
    Florian Pfender

    In determining the outcome of a play in presence of a foul, you must take the fouling player completely out of the equation. If the girl would have had a shot at catching the disc if the defender had suddenly stopped running, and had sat on the ground to read the rule book instead, then yes, the foul affected the play.

You must be logged in to reply to this topic.