Correcting a rolling disc. Turnover?

  • March 30, 2018 at 9:06 pm #1528
    Carlos Andrés Bohm


    I will explain a situation that happened to me some time ago.

    The opponent team, was attacking, and after a failed catch the disc touched the ground (thus a turnover) but continued rolling, I kicked it to stop it but seriously altered the position of the disc. As I was aware that I had changed the position of the disc with the kick, I grabbed it, and put it to rest where I kicked it. The opponent team called a turnover.

    I think it was not a turnover, because I was not actively faking or attempting a pass but just correcting the position of a disc that I had altered with a kick.

    What do you think? Is it a turnover?

    March 31, 2018 at 2:08 pm #1531
    Rueben Berg

    With regard to moving the disc, that should only happen if requested by the opposition (as per 8.4.1.)

    Regarding the ‘double turnover’, it is not a turnover, as detailed in rule 13.6, but you would have to re-establish possession.

You must be logged in to reply to this topic.