Continuation after an “Injury” Stoppage

  • May 11, 2015 at 6:38 pm #860
    Ravi Vasudevan

    So I see rules for continuation after a violation or foul, but nothing for after a “stoppage”.

    Situation was this:

    I was guarding a handler and he made a cut to go upline, as I pursued him I twisted my ankle and fell to the ground. It took me a few seconds to gather myself and call out “injury”. At some point the thrower had thrown to a different receiver than the guy I was covering and they claimed that it was before I called injury. None of my defending teammates were affected but I was stuck away from my offender and this may have affected what was happening.

    My question is does that throw stand? The injury happened way before the throw and let’s say that the injury call happened after the throw and was not to my guy. Should play stop from when the injury occurred or from when the injury itself happened. Can the continuation rule be in effect here or not since this was not a foul or violation? In the end the disc went back, but there was a lot of discussion of what should happen and I couldn’t find a clear answer in the rules.

    May 12, 2015 at 3:37 am #861
    Rueben Berg

    This is covered in rule 19.3:

    19.3.1. After an injury stoppage that is not the result of a foul, the completion or turnover stands, and play restarts there.

    The “Injury” call is what stops play, not the actual injury. So play should stop once the pass was caught. There is no ability to catch up after the injury.

You must be logged in to reply to this topic.