clarify catch d and blocks

  • June 17, 2024 at 12:10 pm #5714

    It’s unclear which side should have the disc when a defender catches the disc but then drops it. If that’s a block, of course, the defense team should have the disc. However, if take it as a catch d, then when he drops the disc it’s another turn.

    from UFA june 15 Colorado to Minnesota point 3 where the observer and conmmentators have different opinions

    June 29, 2024 at 7:43 pm #5746
    David Liepmann

    Not familiar with the June 15 scenario but does this address it?

    >Annotation 13.1 – Note: It is not a turnover if a player fumbles the disc prior to fully establishing possession when attempting to gain possession of the disc after a turnover, or after a pull that has already contacted the ground (see rule 8.1.4).

    June 30, 2024 at 8:33 am #5747

    The play in question can be viewed here (at 32m12s).

    > Possession of the disc
    > A player establishes possession of a pass when:
    > – they catch a pass and then they maintain that catch for more than one noticeable instant, and
    > – they maintain the catch throughout all ground contact related to the catch, or until they throw the disc
    > (…)

    In WFDF rules, I believe the discussion would resolve around whether the defender in this clip lost the disc because of a ground contact (in which case he never established possession and it’s not a turn), or whether he fumbled it after establishing possession.

    In any case, it seems to be that it’s already well covered by existing rules.

You must be logged in to reply to this topic.