March 26, 2013 at 4:26 am #308Francheska LalondrizParticipant
Rule 8.6 – If you call delay of game violation on an opposing team, how long should you give them before starting the stall count? Also, what if the opposing team contests the delay of game call, what happens?
Rule 13.6. states – If the player in possession after a turnover intentionally drops the disc, or places the disc on the ground, they must re-establish possession.
What if the player didn’t intentionally drop the disc after a interception? The other day there was a scenario where the defensive player intercepted and seemed to have possession but immediately after dropped the disc. There was discussing whether 13.6 applied or not since the drop was not intentional as indicated in the rules.
Thanks in advance!March 26, 2013 at 10:31 am #309
8.6.2. If the intended thrower is within three (3) metres of the pivot point and, after the verbal warning, continues to breach 8.6 the marker may commence the stall count.
How long should you wait: If, after the warning, the intended thrower does not move immediately at walking pace or faster to directly retrieve the disc and establish a pivot, you can start stalling, as long as they are within 3 metres.
If the call is contested, everyone must stop moving, discuss the call, and then restart play with a check. The contested call should be made immediately, so the stall count would restart at 1.March 26, 2013 at 10:40 am #310
Question 2 re 13.6
If they actually established possession (“Sustained contact with, and control of, a non-spinning disc”) and then dropped the disc this would be a turnover*.
For example they establish possession, maintain possession after any ground contact related to the pass, and then drop the disc as they move the disc to their throwing hand.
This would be seen as a skill error and therefore a turnover is a reasonable outcome.
*Unless they are out of bounds and have yet to establish a pivot, in which case 8.1.2. would apply).
However if they haven’t actually established possession, then it would not be a turnover and any player from their team could establish possession.July 23, 2013 at 1:30 pm #400
Re Rule 13.6
Does this mean that intentional drop/placement of the disk by a defender is NOT a turnover if no pivot was established, i.e. a defender can still lower his/her hand with the disk and place the disk on the ground if he/she does not show any intention to throw the disk?July 24, 2013 at 4:38 pm #401AnonymousGuest
Re: Rule 13.6
If a player drops the disc unintentionally (e.g. slipped out of hand while swinging from forehand to a backhand throw) it is a turnover.
The Rule 13.6 was introduced because (my understanding)
1) Earlier players weren’t aware that after turnover (say out of bounds) that the player who picks the discs has to be the thrower. Instead, player near the the disc (where it went outbound) picks the disc and gives it to another player of the same team (like how it is done in football for throw-in). Though players did this because of their ignorance about the rules, this was considered to be turnover. To be fair to them, the player who picked the disc is asked to regain possession and resume the play.
In the case you suggested, the player cannot take advantage of this ruleJuly 25, 2013 at 11:58 am #403John McNaughtonParticipant
If no pivot has been established, presumably the player has either:
a) just made an intercept while moving, or
b) made an intercept in a position where they have to walk the disc somewhere to establish a pivot (i.e. in the endzone or out of bounds).
In either case, rule 13.6 applies, and the answer to Romik’s question is yes: the player who was in possession after a turnover must re-establish possession if they intentionally drop the disc/place it on the ground, and play restarts with a check. That is, if they make the intercept and then deliberately put the disc on the ground, it is not a turnover – they have to pick it up again.
As Rueben and Raghul have said, if the player establishes possession appropriately and then unintentionally drops the disc through a skills error, this would be a turnover if they are within the central zone (or have established a pivot in the defending endzone). If they must move to put the disc into play (case b, above), a turnover is not possible until a pivot is correctly established.July 25, 2013 at 12:20 pm #404
[quote=ausjmc10] the player who was in possession after a turnover must re-establish possession if they intentionally drop the disc/place it on the ground, and play restarts with a check. That is, if they make the intercept and then deliberately put the disc on the ground, it is not a turnover – they have to pick it up again.[/quote]
And only player, who intentionally drops/places the disk on the ground, should/can re-establish possession and pick up the disk for a throw OR any player from his/her team can become a thrower?
Tanks ausjmc10.July 25, 2013 at 1:02 pm #405John McNaughtonParticipant
Yes, only that player. The rule change removes the “double turnover”, but doesn’t allow for the disc to be taken by another player after the intercept.September 19, 2013 at 5:16 pm #432September 20, 2013 at 2:28 am #433
“Freeze” is not a call.
The glossary has been updated.October 12, 2013 at 4:37 pm #440Bruno GravatoParticipant
When you need to stop play and you’re not sure what to call, what should you call? “stop”?
For example, if there’s a contested marking infraction, play should stop. What should one shout to the other players to make sure that the play stops and everyone is (as soon as possible) aware that there was a stoppage and stop moving around?
BrunoOctober 13, 2013 at 12:11 am #442
if there’s a contested marking infraction, play should stop. What should one shout to the other players
First thing that should be called is “Contested”.
If play does not stop, or you are not sure what call to make, it is acceptable to call “Stop”.June 5, 2014 at 12:32 pm #697Pekka RantaParticipant
15.2. A breach of the rules regarding a Marking or Travel breach is an infraction. [b]Infractions
do not stop play.[/b]
10. The Check
10.1. Whenever play stops during a point for a time-out, foul, violation, contested turnover,
contested goal, technical stoppage, injury stoppage, or discussion, play must restart as
quickly as possible with a check. The check may only be delayed for the discussion of a
10.2. Except in the case of a time-out:
10.2.1. All players must return to the positions they held when the event that caused…
18.1. Marking Infractions:
184.108.40.206. Prior to the check the thrower must establish a pivot at the correct spot
and, if a marker was present at the time of the throw, the marker may
move to mark the thrower.
You must be logged in to reply to this topic.