-
May 23, 2024 at 9:42 pm #5602
Mark Bignal
ParticipantEven if a pull lands in bounds, if it rolls out of bounds, it can be bricked. I.e. reducing roller pulls
Rationale:
– Watching offense scramble over a roller pull coming out at half way is very boring
– Big roller pulls landing in or near the endzone taco discs and are often left to roll out the back of the endzone and then are slowly walked back in. Not exactly entertaining to watch
Call this the Sofiene Bontemps rule, he’s too OP 😉June 3, 2024 at 7:37 pm #5673Chris
ParticipantI don’t think this will achieve what you want because there are also teams that deliberately pull way out of bounds so that the offence sets up statically at the brick mark, which is also a very boring thing to watch.
The problem is that the brick rule (and accompanying rules about the pull) do not create (I think) the right balance of risk/reward.
My proposal would be the following: any pull that, when on the ground stays within and stops within the crowd line should be treated as a good pull and the offensive team should have to play the disc from the closest point on the side line or back line. This rewards floating pulls and rollers that aren’t demonstrations of strength. The defence can use them as a weapon, but there is now risk to using the weapon.
Pulls that don’t meet the criteria above are bad pulls. The offensive team gets to bring them into play at the closest point to the playing field proper (so front line of the end zone or side line). But the defending team is not allowed to progress past half way until the disc is brought into play by the offensive team (e.g., with the first throw or a ground check).
So now, pulls that demonstrate great throwing skill are highly rewarded, but they come with a risk because you cannot set up a static defensive situation by simply throwing with great strength out the side of the field beyond the brick mark.
July 28, 2024 at 9:03 pm #5815Christian Schneider
Participant+1
March 24, 2025 at 7:53 am #6064coachneid24
ParticipantWith out of bounds, if I am an active player on the field and I retrieve the disc from out of bounds, can I pass the disc to another teammate before establishing a pivot. If not, what is the call and resulting action?
This situation occurred when a pull landed out and a receiving team member picked up the out of bounds disc. Then, before returning to the field, centered it to another player at the brick mark.
March 24, 2025 at 11:11 am #6065Chris
ParticipantIn the current rules, this is a violation of 11.9. I would call a travel violation, since their pivot foot is not established correctly. However, a general violation call would achieve the same result (disc going back and player bringing to the brick mark).
You must be logged in to reply to this topic.