A5.5.4 Delay after a timeout

  • July 17, 2019 at 6:42 pm #1693
    Davide Peyronel

    A5.5.4. If play has not restarted after the pre-stall the opposition may announce “delay of
    game” and the player at the location the disc is to be put into play may announce
    “disc in” and then initiate and continue the stall count, without acknowledgment
    by the opposing team.

    Here it is reported “the opposition” but it seems to apply only if the offence is not ready and the defense team can initiate the stall count.
    But what happens in case the offence is ready and all offensive players have established
    their position, they starts the pre-stall count but after 15 seconds the defense team is not ready yet?


    July 18, 2019 at 5:37 am #1694
    Rueben Berg

    That is an error in the wording we will look to fix.

    The intention is that the offence can self check the disc after the pre-stall.

    July 18, 2019 at 1:13 pm #1695
    Davide Peyronel

    Ok thanks. So the intention is that the offence can self check and start to play regardless the defense’s acknowledgment, correct?
    Just one comment about that: during a timeout there could be more than 20 persons per team on the field (players, coaches, technical staff), with whiteboards, water bottles and others. if the defense team is in delay (maybe still discussing) with all those people and staff on the field, it doesn’t seem to be realistic that the offence can just self check the disc and start to play in that situation, does it?
    Maybe the offence could gain some yards (something similar to the delay before the pull or offside violation) or other advantage. What do you think?


You must be logged in to reply to this topic.