8.1 // 10.5 Dropped ground check

  • September 29, 2014 at 6:05 pm #779
    Sylwester Przybyla
    Participant

    Consider this scenario:

    After a stoppage the disc has to be checked in. There is no defender around so the thrower does a ground check. He touches the disc to the ground but due to the contact he loses control over the disc.

    Question 1:
    This is a turnover, right? –> Disc is live as soon as the thrower touches the ground with the disc?

    Question 2:
    Same scenario but after the contact with the ground the disc bumps up into the air and the thrower catches it. Turnover?

    September 30, 2014 at 4:02 am #782
    Rueben Berg
    Keymaster

    Neither of those things should be turnovers.

    October 11, 2014 at 12:41 am #784
    Julian Bushe
    Participant

    Could you elaborate why scenario 1 shouldn’t be a turnover?

    Say the the thrower drops the disc due to the ground contact, after he said “Disc In”.
    The defense calls “down”, claiming the check-in was complete after the disc was touched to the ground and the thrower said “disc in”. So a live disc touched the ground without being in control of an offensive player.
    What should the thrower tell the defense to make it clear that this not a turnover?

    Thank you in advance for the answer.

You must be logged in to reply to this topic.