January 5, 2013 at 5:44 am #222AnonymousGuest
It seems to me that there is a contradiction in between the point 7.11 of the rules and the point 7.2 of the official interpretations of the rules.
The rules say: “If the disc initially contacts the playing field and then becomes out-of-bounds after contacting an offensive player, or an offensive player catches the pull out-of-bounds, the thrower establishes the pivot at the point on the playing field closest to where the disc became out-of-bounds” whereas the interpretations say: “If you catch the pull out of bounds then you must play the disc from the closest part of the playing field to where you caught it (sideline/back of the endzone)”
It seems to me that the interpretations is the correct way of doing things but it seems to me that the rules say otherwise as they state that the offensive player catching the disc out-of-bounds can go to where the disc went out-of-bounds, which is often quite far away from the closest part of the playing field to where the disc was caught.
I’m maybe understanding it wrongly, but if that’s not the case, I would suggest removing the sentence “or an offensive player catches the pull out-of-bounds” and then adding a 7.13 saying: “If the disc is caught out of bounds by the offensive player, that player must keep possession of the disc and play it from the closest part of the playing fiel to where it was caught“January 5, 2013 at 7:12 am #223Rueben BergKeymaster
There is no contradiction because there is a difference between where a disc went out-of-bounds and where it became out-of-bounds (rule 11.5 and 11.7)
If a pull goes out the side of the field and then gets caught out-of-bounds, the place where it went out-of-bounds is where it went outside of the field. The place where it became out-of-bounds is where the disc was caught.
Rule 11.7 says says “the thrower establishes the pivot at the point on the playing field closest to where the disc became out-of-bounds” – which, when the disc is caught out-of-bounds, is the point on the playing field closest to where it was caught.
Hope that helps.January 5, 2013 at 7:28 am #224AnonymousGuest
It does indeed help a lot! (although I don’t see what rules 17.5 and 17.7 have to do with it)
Thanks for the quick and efficient answer!January 5, 2013 at 7:37 am #226AnonymousGuest
Makes better sense indeed!
You must be logged in to reply to this topic.