Can a defensive player attempt a greatest from out-of-bounds area?

  • October 1, 2021 at 7:58 am #1966
    Will Chen

    Hello! says that “… an in-bounds player who catches a pass while airborne may attempt a pass prior to contacting the ground.” and 11.2 says that “… defensive players […] are always considered in-bounds”.

    Does this mean it’s possible for a defensive player to jump from an out-of-bounds area, intercept a throw, and legally throw it before they land? 


    October 12, 2021 at 8:19 am #1969
    Rueben Berg

    The wording around that rule needs a bit of tightening up, so it’s possible it could be interpreted that way. But that is not the intention of the rule.

    Also worth noting that if the defence did jump from out-of-bounds, catch a pass while airborne and make a throw while still airborne – if the pass was incomplete, that would be a ‘double turnover’.

You must be logged in to reply to this topic.