17.2.2 seems to have a legacy interpretation

  • June 5, 2018 at 12:43 am #1543

    Uncontested foul gives possession to the receiver in the end-zone of attack. In USAU the disc is checked at this spot and you walk back.

    WFDF rule 17.2.2 seems to say that the disc is dead until the disc is brought back to the goal line – although there is an interpretations link that explains the rule as USAU style. I suspect that they recently changed this rule so the interpretation needs to be removed/updated.


    June 5, 2018 at 2:03 am #1544
    Rueben Berg

    Sorry, not sure what the issue is.

    The rule states that the disc is dead because, after the check, the marker cannot start the stall count until the pivot is established on the goal line.
    All other players are allowed to move after the check, just as they could for other dead disc situations, such as after a turnover when the disc must be carried to a specific spot.

    June 5, 2018 at 2:23 am #1545

    Obviously I am mistaken. I assumed “dead disc” meant the same thing as in USAU, therefore no one could move. I now understand that WFDF dead disc covers both dead and live (but not in-play) states of the disc from USAU. Great, thanks Rueben!

You must be logged in to reply to this topic.