calling “play on”

  • August 2, 2013 at 4:56 pm #419

    (I wasn’t really sure if this belongs here or under “Suggestions”)

    From the Continuation rule: – If the team that called the foul or violation gains or retains possession as a result of the pass, play shall continue. Players recognizing this may call “Play on” to indicate that this rule has been invoked.

    This is a change from the previous version, which read “Players recognizing this

    September 9, 2014 at 5:57 pm #727
    Sylwester Przybyla

    I´m also interested in this answer… I also think the old rule was better. People should call “Play On” immediately to prevent any confusion.

    September 9, 2014 at 6:45 pm #728
    Florian Pfender

    It does not really change anything in reality, players will still call “play on”. What the change does technically: It takes away all potential “violation” calls for not calling “play on”.

    Before, it depended on how you interpreted “should”. If you interpreted it on the “may” side of calling violations, nothing has changed. If you interpreted on the “must” side, then the rule technically asked every single player on the field to call “play on” once they realized it — and this never happened in reality, so one could have called violation every time this rule was invoked in practice.

    We did want to change the rule to align with common usage, and since you can not pin the violation to a specific player if it is not called, we opted to clearly make it not a violation.

    September 10, 2014 at 4:49 pm #729
    Sylwester Przybyla

    Hi Flo,

    thank you for this detailed answer. I really love the explanations on why the rules comittee changes certain things.

    I have a question, though: You write, that people will still call “play on”. But what happens if they don´t?

    Consider this scenario:
    Foul on the throw. Thrower calls a foul. Disc flys perfectly to the intended receiver and is caught. A defender stops because of the foul call and because he isn´t aware that the continuation rule has been evoked. His offender plays on without calling “play on”. The disc is thrown to this offender for a score. Can the defender call the disc back?

    With the new rule he shure can`t. But isn´t that a bit unfair?

    September 10, 2014 at 6:47 pm #730
    Florian Pfender

    no, not unfair. The defender should know the rule and play on until it is clear that does not apply.

You must be logged in to reply to this topic.