January 23, 2013 at 10:27 pm #255AnonymousGuest
I’ve read the interpretation of rules file but this is still not clear to me: If I (as a defender) intercept a pass from the offense, and I am in-bounds, can I drop the disc to the ground so my teammate pick it up, becoming the thrower and resuming the play?
Thanks.January 24, 2013 at 12:03 am #256davidParticipant
I believe it is a violation but NOT a turnover. Meaning (in this case), the defense can call violation and then you must pick up the disc as the thrower.
BTW, Rueben, just out of curiosity – what was the reasoning behind this change?January 24, 2013 at 1:39 am #257Rueben BergKeymaster
If I (as a defender) intercept a pass from the offense, and I am in-bounds, can I drop the disc to the ground so my teammate pick it up, becoming the thrower and resuming the play?
You cannot intentionally drop the disc so that a teammate can take possession, as stated in 13.6:
If the player in possession after a turnover intentionally drops the disc, or places the disc on the ground, they must re-establish possession.
When it says “they must re-establish possession” it is referring to “the player in possession after a turnover”.
However if you never have possession (ie you try to catch it but fail, or are ground stripped) then your teammate can take possession.
what was the reasoning behind this change?
The majority of times this occurred in the past was due to ignorance of the rules.
Therefore it was adjusted to be more in line with rule 1.2:
It is trusted that no player will intentionally break the rules; thus there are no harsh penalties for breaches, but rather a method for resuming play in a manner which simulates what would most likely have occurred had there been no breach.April 1, 2014 at 1:09 am #669Sharonid LopezParticipant
I have a question concerning the Ground stripped interception (13.4 Interpretations)
If I attempt to intercept the disc, and then I drop it, its as if the interception never ocurred?
Isn’t that the same as making a defense? Knocking the disc to the floor. (I’m not sure how to say it in english but in spanish it’s “hacer una defensa” or “tumbar el disco”.
If I do that, the turnover occurs, so why would it not if I catch the disc making an interception and immediately drop it?April 1, 2014 at 1:17 am #670Florian PfenderParticipant
the question is if a second turn over occurs. the first one the interception, the second one the drop.
In this case, the rules dictate that it is treated the same to knocking the disc to the ground without ever catching it, i.e. only one turn over.June 2, 2014 at 11:43 am #696Pekka RantaParticipant
Dispute; intentional-drop or not?
-How do we handle the situation where player A blocks/intercepts a pass but insists that he only block it. Can s/he choose? Can team B force player A to be a thrower?
– If there is two defender intercepting the pass and they both drop it? Who is the thrower then?
– How do we handle if intentional-drop is like pushpass (over endzoneline) but next catch is dropped. Interceptor didnt established pivot.
The rule is clear in paper but causes too many open interpretations.(Ex. fast counter-attact). The problem is concept of INTERCEPTION.
You must be logged in to reply to this topic.