Under the Tape is IN – Interpretation of rule

April 29, 2019 at 6:18 pm #1667

I do have same interprétations as binchyster.
Reading the comments on the aforementionned Facebook post, and especially issued by (one of) the redactor of this rule, I think the main issue is trying to resolve case when the line itself is dragged by Wind, and therefore floats over the field.
It occurs, true, and produces some time very weird game field’s shapes.
Still, I don’t see how a clearer statement like “touching the line is out” wouldn’t stands in any case (not with same results, but that is not what we are looking for, we want clear neat simple rules with a minimum to no exception, an no exception to exception at all).