Rule 9.6.

May 7, 2013 at 8:29 pm #370

I like this wording.

It clearly distinguishes between the last number counted before a call and the first number counted once play resumes. This will be very useful in the case where the stall is reduced to a maximum (6, 8 or 9 depending)

I think the explicit mention of x+1 will also be useful where the count was below the relevant maximum.

In addition I have sometimes seen confusion on a pitch before restarting a stall count when the mark announces the stall count before a check. People can often say: “Coming in on x,” *check* “stalling (x+1)”

I think that the above distinction would also help in this situation.