The rules are unclear if the pull is considered an automatic turn over or not. Several places would say “yes”, and others say “no”.
If one interprets as yes, then no problem, 8.6 applies.
If one interprets as no, then 8.6 does not apply, and the defense can not make a call other than “stop being an ass”. Clearly, the intention and spirit of the rules is to not allow unnecessary delays — looking for loopholes like this is being an ass.
We should probably either make it clear that the pull is considered a turn (and a dropped pull a double turn), or modify 8.6 to say “after a turn over or the pull”.