Do the tipping travel rules only apply if the player tipping the disc catches it

May 10, 2023 at 11:38 am #4402
Conor Hogan

Thanks for coming back so quickly Rueben!

Just to clarify further but essentially intent doesn’t matter on the second touch? I’d have thought if a defender’s second touch is to smack the disc to the floor, that’s not a travel. But if they’re macking/tipping it to make the turn a shorter field then I think that’s more of a travel and there’s a “don’t lie/be honest about intent” element.

I can see why a second touch isn’t a travel to avoid having to justify defending the same disc twice if an offensive player is still in the area but if a defender is playing for yards that feels travel-y, irrespective of number of touches, no?