17.7. Offensive Throwing (Thrower) Fouls

May 2, 2013 at 7:05 pm #369

[quote=”rueben” post=165]
If you look at the rule this is pretty clear:
It is a defensive throwing foul if the part of the markers body that was moving contacts the thrower.[/quote]

Thanks for your reply Ruben. If I’m reading you correctly the rules say that Situation 1 above is a foul by the offence, while Situation 2 a foul by the defense. That all adds up for me now.

My confusion arose because I was looking at Rule 17.7 (and it’s interpretations) in isolation and without consulting the complementary rule 17.4. Only in 17.4 do the rules isolate movement of individual body parts from each other.

Thanks again.